Scan code consultation:
400-862-6488
Service
Service
Current location: Home Service Explosion proof certification and certificate of conformity
Explosion proof principle of explosion-proof shell

SINO Testing Services

| 2020-07-24|Return

When electrical equipment is in use, due to the thermal effect of conductor resistance, electrical components and circuits will generate heat; Due to the normal operation of electrical components such as switches and relays, electrical sparks or arcs may be generated when the circuit is turned on or off; Due to insufficient insulation or spacing between electrical components, conductive components with different potentials may experience short circuits, breakdown, and other faults, resulting in heating, electrical sparks, or arcs. These may only cause equipment failures, circuit failures, etc. in ordinary environments, but in explosive environments, they may ignite explosive substances and explode. Therefore, it is necessary to take measures to prevent electrical equipment from causing explosion accidents.

 

The most direct measure is to install electrical equipment inside a sufficiently sturdy casing, without considering the working principle and power size of the equipment. Even if the electrical equipment causes an explosion of explosive substances around it, the high temperature and high pressure generated by the explosion will not spread to the entire environment due to being wrapped in the casing, thus avoiding more serious consequences.

 

Therefore, this enclosure should first have sufficient strength to withstand the pressure generated by internal explosions. In GB3836.2 "Equipment protected by an explosion-proof enclosure" d "in explosive environments," this explosion-proof enclosure needs to withstand at least 1.5 times the internal explosion pressure. ".

 

In addition, when the equipment is used in explosive environments, the casing itself should not be a source of ignition. During long-term operation, the external surface of the equipment should not have a high temperature sufficient to cause ignition. Even if the high temperature inside the equipment causes ignition, it cannot spread to the outside. There is no need to consider its ignition risk, but it should be prevented from opening the cover immediately after power outage. The temperature of the high-temperature surface has not yet dropped below the minimum ignition temperature. Therefore, it is necessary to apply a warning sign on the outside of the casing, and the cover can only be opened after sufficient time of power outage.

 

When the shell is made of metal materials, mechanical sparks may be generated if it is subjected to external impacts and friction, causing ignition. Light metals such as aluminum, magnesium, and titanium zirconium are prone to generate high-temperature mechanical sparks after being collided with rusted iron. Therefore, the proportion of light metal components in the metal shell material should be strictly controlled. It should be noted that although in most cases, copper and copper alloys do not ignite and do not produce high-temperature mechanical sparks when collided with other metals, and are often used as explosion-proof tools, copper can form acetylene compounds with acetylene. After friction and collision, the acetylene compounds will burn violently. Therefore, if the equipment is expected to be used in an environment with acetylene, the copper content in the outer shell material should be controlled to not exceed 65%.

 

The casing should also have sufficient stability and should not corrode during daily use. High activity zinc and alloys with zinc content exceeding 80% are not suitable for manufacturing explosion-proof equipment casings.

 

When the outer shell is made of non-metallic materials other than glass and ceramics, in addition to considering the performance degradation caused by long-term operation under high and low temperatures, it is also necessary to consider the performance degradation caused by exposure to ultraviolet radiation for transparent parts of lamps used underground in coal mines and outer shells in non mining areas. In addition, non-metals will accumulate static electricity after friction, and when the static electricity is discharged at a sufficiently high potential, it will ignite combustible substances in the environment. Therefore, it is necessary to avoid the generation of static electricity or prevent the accumulation of static electricity. Anti static materials or measures to release static electricity as soon as possible can be chosen to reduce the risk of static electricity ignition.

 

During the manufacturing and use of electrical equipment, it is inevitable to open the casing for installation, debugging, maintenance, and other work. It is impossible to weld the casing into a completely enclosed whole, and two different components inevitably form a joint structure on the casing. There are gaps at the joint positions, in order to prevent explosive flames inside the equipment from spreading from the gap at the joint to the surrounding environment, Special design is required for the joint structure. According to existing research, when flames propagate along narrow gaps, the smaller the gap, the lower the energy it can propagate to the outside. When the gap is small enough, the internal flames will not be able to ignite the external environment through the joint. In addition, the longer the length of the flame channel, the better the effect on reducing flame energy. In explosion-proof standards, such flame channels are called explosion-proof joint surfaces. Based on a large number of tests, the safety values of the width of explosion-proof joint surfaces and their corresponding gaps for different explosion-proof levels have been obtained. When the width of the joint surface is greater than these minimum values and the gap is less than the maximum value, the explosion-proof shell can effectively prevent internal flames from spreading to the surrounding environment of the equipment.

 

The types of explosion-proof joint surfaces mainly include flat type, cylindrical type, stop type, threaded type, and bonded type. Regardless of the type, it is a channel for internal explosion flames to propagate outward, and the design should consider the most unfavorable conditions.

 

Due to the variety of fastening methods, the width and distance of the planar joint surface also vary, and the common ones include external fixation, internal fixation, and connected cavity fixation.


 

Figure 1: Tightening the bolts from the outside

Firstly, let's take a look at the most common flat cover plate structure shown in Figure 1, which is fastened to the flange by bolts from the outside. In this tightening method, the screw hole may be a through hole or a non through hole, and the shell may be on the outside or inside of the flange. Although the shape of the screw hole and the position of the shell are differentExplosion proofThe parameters are all the same. Obviously, in this case, there are two channels for flame propagation: the first propagates outward along the gap of the entire plane joint surface; The other is to propagate along the plane joint surface to the fastening bolt and outward from the bolt hole. Therefore, the explosion-proof surface parameters that need to be controlled for this structure include: the total effective explosion-proof surface joint width, and the distance from the inner side of the hole to the flange edge. When the screw hole is not a through-hole, attention should also be paid to the requirement of GB3836.2-2010 Section 11.7 for bolt head allowance to prevent the bolt from being unable to tighten when screwed in without a washer.


 

Figure 2: Bolt fixed from the inside

In some cases, it is necessary to fix the cover plate from the inside. For example, in the radiator structure of some frequency converters shown in Figure 2, due to the large heat dissipation fins on the outer sleeve of the radiator heat pipe, it is not possible to tighten the bolts from the outside. In this case, it is necessary to first fix the radiator substrate on the transition flange from the inside, and then assemble the transition flange onto the explosion-proof shell. In this structure, the propagation channel along the entire plane still exists, but when propagating from the outer edge of the substrate and flange to the bolt, both sides of the channel are inside the shell and there will be no explosion transmission. Therefore, this channel does not need to be designed according to the explosion-proof joint surface, as long as it meets the remaining thickness requirements of the explosion-proof shell wall in Chapter 11 of GB3836.2-2010; But if the flame propagates along the plane from the bolt hole to the inner side of the transition flange, it can reach the outside of the shell, which will cause an external explosion. Therefore, this channel needs to meet the requirements of the explosion-proof joint surface. Through simple analysis, this structure requires controlling the parameters of the explosion-proof surface, including the total effective explosion-proof surface joint width and the distance from the hole edge inward to the transition flange edge.


 

Figure 3: Two connected shells connected by bolts

In other cases, it is necessary to fix the two sections of the shell shown in Figure 3 together with bolts from the inside, but the two sections of the shell are not separated. For example, for multi circuit combination switches, the shell is very long. For processing convenience, manufacturing units often design it into multiple sections and then assemble it into a complete shell. In this structure, the path of flame propagation is somewhat different from the above situation. When the flame propagates from the bolt hole along the plane to the inner side of the flange, the inner side is still inside the explosion-proof shell, but when it propagates to the outer side of the flange, it will reach the outer side of the shell. This channel needs to meet the requirements of the explosion-proof joint surface to ensure that the flame does not propagate to the outside and cause explosions in the surrounding environment. Therefore, the explosion-proof surface parameters that need to be controlled for this structure are: the total effective explosion-proof surface joint width, the distance from the outer side of the hole to the edge of the flange.


 

Figure 4: Bolted Connection of Two Separated Shells

When there are some changes in this structure, if it is necessary to connect the two separated shells shown in Figure 4 with flanges, different flame channels need to be considered, such as the explosion-proof joint surface between the junction box of the explosion-proof motor and the base. In this structure, flames can propagate along the joint surface from the inner side of the flange or from the bolt hole to the outer edge of the flange, which may cause explosions in the external environment of the explosion-proof shell, When flames propagate from the inside of the flange to the bolt hole, it will cause another chamber to explode. Therefore, in this case, the entire width of the joint surface, the distance from the edge of the bolt hole to the outer edge of the flange, and the distance from the edge of the bolt hole to the inner edge of the flange all need to meet the requirements of the explosion-proof joint surface.


 

Figure 5: No bolt fastening in the middle of the flange

Sometimes, flanges can be quite narrow and long. In order to reinforce them, manufacturing companies will add a reinforced flange in the middle, as shown in Figure 5. If there are no fastening bolts on this section of the flange and the cavity is not divided into two parts, then there is no need to design according to the explosion-proof joint surface.


 

Figure 6: There are bolts in the middle of the flanges of the same chamber for fastening

However, in some cases, due to the large size of the joint surface, relying solely on peripheral fixation cannot guarantee the strength of the cover plate during explosion. Therefore, there will be fastening bolts on the middle flange, as shown in Figure 6. In this case, it is necessary to consider the flame channel. Since both sides of the flange are the same cavity, the entire plane joint surface does not need to meet the width of the explosion-proof joint surface. However, if the flame propagates from the flange edge along the joint surface to the edge of the fastening bolt hole, Or propagate from the bolt hole to the outside of the shell, so this section of the joint surface needs to meet the distance of the explosion-proof joint surface.


 

Figure 7: The flanges between different chambers are fastened with bolts

In other cases, two adjacent chambers share a cover plate, as shown in Figure 7. For example, on a high-power conveyor motor, the motor chamber and wiring chamber share a cover plate above. In this structure, in addition to the distance from the flange edge to the bolt hole that needs to meet the distance of the explosion-proof joint surface, if the flame propagates along the entire joint surface, it will also propagate from one cavity to another, causing an explosion in that cavity. Therefore, the effective joint width of the flange needs to meet the width requirements of the explosion-proof joint surface.

 

In order to display information of electrical equipment or transmit light from the light source to the outside, transparent components need to be installed on the casing, unless expensive materials such as polycarbonate can be drilled or machined to meet the requirements of fixing and dimensional accuracy of the explosion-proof surface. The heavily used tempered glass cannot guarantee dimensional accuracy, and other means can only be used to meet the requirements of the explosion-proof joint surface. At present, most mining equipment is installed with pads for easy replacement, but due to the large gap between the joint surfaces, it cannot be guaranteed to pass the non explosion test of internal ignition of Class II equipment. The transparent parts of Class II equipment generally adopt the method of bonding the joint surface. The adhesive in this joint surface generally only ensures the sealing effect, and the transparent parts need to be fixed by mechanical structure. At present, there are also special fusion joints that melt glass and cast it into the shell or frame. There is almost no gap between the glass and metal components, but this process is costly and generally not used.

 

Electrical equipment usually has circuit connections with other equipment to achieve functions such as power supply, control, and communication. Explosion proof electrical equipment uses cables to achieve these functions. However, due to the fact that cables are made of elastic rubber, they cannot be processed into cylindrical shapes with fixed external dimensions like metal or plastic, and the position of the cable after installation should also have sufficient stability to prevent line failures caused by pulling during use. Based on the characteristics of cable materials and structures, cylindrical sealing rings with holes are generally used to wrap around the outside of the cable. They are installed together with metal washers into the connecting joint, and various compression devices are used to compress the sealing ring axially, causing it to expand radially. Due to the connection joint on the outer side of the sealing ring, the sealing ring can only expand inward, thus tightly combining with the cable and achieving the function of clamping the cable, This structure is called a cable entry device. For the introduction device used on the explosion-proof shell, in addition to clamping the cable, it should also prevent internal flames from spreading to the environment through the gap between the sealing ring and the cable, and between the sealing ring and the connecting joint. Therefore, additional sealing tests should be conducted to confirm its ability to prevent flame propagation. For IIC equipment or situations where the cable is too short, the risk of flame propagation from inside the cable should also be considered. It is generally recommended that the length of the cable outside the explosion-proof enclosure should not be less than 1 meter.


 

Summary of Explosion proof Enclosures

The use of explosion-proof casing protection does not require the modification or performance reduction of electrical components, and there are no restrictions on the types of electrical equipment. It is convenient to apply and is the most commonly used explosion-proof type. However, due to the need for the shell to withstand internal explosive pressure and its bulky structure, it will also increase manufacturing costs.

 

Related Recommendations
Contact us
400-862-6488
Address: 12th Floor, Research and Development Building, Yanxiang Zhigu, No. 11 Gaoxin West Road, Guangming District, Shenzhen
Follow us
Copyright: Shenzhen Zhongnuo Testing Technology Co., Ltd. 粤ICP备18004888号
服务热线
18924609560
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询

扫码咨询我们:
400-862-6488
服务项目
服务项目
当前位置: 首页 服务项目 防爆认证和防爆合格证
隔爆外壳防爆原理

深圳中诺检测技术有限公司

| 2020-07-24|返回列表

当电气设备在使用时,由于导体电阻的热效应,电气部件及线路会发热;由于开关、继电器等电气元件正常工作时引起的电路通断,会产生电气火花或电弧;由于电气部件之间的绝缘或间距不够,不同电势的导电部件之间会发生短路、击穿等故障而发热、产生电气火花或电弧,这些在普通环境中可能仅仅引起设备故障、线路故障等,但如果在爆炸性环境中,将可能点燃爆炸性环境中爆炸性物质而爆炸。因此,有必要采取措施,防止电气设备引起爆炸事故。

 

直接的措施是,不考虑设备的工作原理、功率大小,将电气设备都安装在一个足够坚固的外壳内部,即使电气设备引起其周围的爆炸性物质的爆炸,由于被外壳包裹,爆炸产生的高温、高压不会扩散到整个环境中,从而不会导致更加严重的后果。

 

因此,这个外壳首先应当具有足够的强度,以承受内部爆炸产生的压力,在GB3836.2“爆炸性环境 由隔爆外壳“d”的保护的设备”中,该隔爆外壳需要至少承受1.5倍内部爆炸压力。

 

另外,设备在爆炸性环境中使用时,外壳本身也不应当成为点燃源。长期的运行时,设备外部的表面不应有足以引起点燃的高温。设备内部的高温即使引起点燃,也无法传播到外部,无需考虑其点燃风险,但应当防止断电后马上开盖,高温表面的温度还没有下降到低点燃温度以下,因此,有必要在外壳外部施加警告标志,需要断电足够时间后方可打开盖板。

 

当外壳采用金属材料制造时,如果受到外部的敲击、摩擦,可能会产生机械火花,引起点燃。铝、镁、钛锆等轻金属被生锈的铁碰撞后,极易产生高温的机械火花,因此,应当严格控制金属外壳材料中的轻金属成分的比例。需要注意的是,虽然大部分情况下,铜及铜合金都是不发火,被其它金属碰撞后不会产生高温机械火花,经常被用作防爆工具,但是铜可以和乙炔形成乙炔化物,受到摩擦、碰撞后,乙炔化物会剧烈燃烧,因此,如果设备预计用于有乙炔的环境,外壳材料应控制铜的含量不超过65%。

 

外壳还应当具有足够的稳定性,不应在日常使用中发生腐蚀,活性高的锌及锌含量超过80%的合金就不适合制造防爆设备的外壳。

 

当外壳采用除玻璃、陶瓷以外非金属材料制作时,除了需要考虑其在长期工作中,因承受高温、低温而引起的性能下降外,对用于煤矿井下的灯具透明件、非矿用场所的外壳,还需要考虑其因暴露在紫外线中而引起的性能下降。另外,非金属受到摩擦后会积聚静电,当静电在足够高的电势放电时,将点燃环境中的可燃性物质。因此,需要避免产生静电或防止静电积聚,可以选择防静电材料或尽快将静电释放的措施来降低静电点燃的风险。

 

电气设备在制造、使用时,不可避免地需要打开外壳进行安装、调试、检修等工作,不可能将外壳焊接成一个完全封闭的整体,在外壳上就不可避免地形成了两个不同部件接合的结构,在接合的位置上存在着间隙,为了防止设备内部的爆炸火焰从接合部位的间隙传播到周围环境中,需要对接合的结构进行特殊的设计。根据已有的研究,火焰沿着狭窄的缝隙传播时,间隙越小,越能降低传播到外部的能量,当间隙足够小,内部的火焰将无法通过接合部位引起外部环境的点燃。另外,火焰通道的长度越大,对火焰能量的降低效果越好。在防爆标准中,这样的火焰通道被称为隔爆接合面,根据大量的试验,得出了不同防爆等级的隔爆接合面宽度及其相应间隙的安全值,当接合面宽度大于这些小值、间隙小于大值,隔爆外壳是可以有效地防止内部火焰传播到设备周围环境中的。

 

隔爆接合面的型式主要有平面型、圆筒型、止口型、螺纹型、粘结型。无论是哪种型式,都是内部爆炸火焰向外传播的通道,在设计时,应当考虑不利条件下的情况。

 

由于紧固方式多种多样,平面接合面的宽度及距离的位置也有多种变化,常见的主要有外固定式、内固定式、连通腔体固定。


 

图1 螺栓从外侧紧固

首先,我们来看图1所示的常见的平盖板通过螺栓从外侧紧固在法兰上的结构。在这种紧固的方式中,螺孔可能是通孔或者不通孔,壳体可能在法兰的外侧,也可能在法兰的内侧,虽然螺孔的形状和壳体位置不相同,但是隔爆参数都是一样的,很显然,在这种情况下,火焰传播的通道有两个:第一个的沿着整个平面接合面的间隙向外传播;另一个是沿着平面接合面传播到紧固螺栓处,从螺栓孔处向外传播。因此,这种结构需要控制的隔爆面参数包括:总的有效隔爆面接合宽度,孔内侧到法兰边缘的距离。当螺孔是不通孔时,还应注意GB3836.2-2010第11.7中对螺栓头部裕量的要求,防止螺栓在不带垫圈拧入时无法拧紧。


 

图2 螺栓从内侧固定

有些情况下,需要从内侧固定盖板,例如在图2所示的有些变频器的散热器结构中,由于散热器热管外面套的散热翅片较大,无法从外侧拧螺栓,这时就需要先从内侧将散热器基板固定在过渡法兰上,再将过渡法兰装配到隔爆壳体上。这种结构里,沿着整个平面的传播通道依然存在,但是从基板和法兰外侧边缘向螺栓处传播时,通道两侧都是外壳内部,不会发生传爆,因此这一通道不需要按照隔爆接合面进行设计,只要符合GB3836.2-2010第11章中隔爆外壳壁的剩余厚度的要求;但是如果火焰从螺栓孔处沿着平面向过渡法兰的内侧传播,可以到达壳体外部,会引起外部的爆炸,因此这一通道就需要符合隔爆接合面要求。通过简单的分析,这种结构需要控制隔爆面参数包括:总的有效隔爆面接合宽度,孔边缘向内到过渡法兰边缘的距离。


 

图3 螺栓连接两段连通的壳体

在另外一些情况下,需要将如图3所示两段壳体用螺栓从内侧固定在一起,但是两段壳体没有被隔开,例如多回路组合开关,外壳很长,为了加工方便,制造单位往往将其设计成多段,然后装配成一个完整的外壳。在这种结构中,火焰传播的路径与上面的情况有些区别,火焰从螺栓孔沿着平面往法兰内侧传播时,内侧仍然是隔爆外壳内部,但是向法兰外侧传播时会达到壳体外部,这一通道就需要符合隔爆接合面要求以保证火焰不会传播到外部引起周围环境的爆炸。因此,这种结构需要控制的隔爆面参数是:总的有效隔爆面接合宽度,孔外侧向外到法兰边缘的距离。


 

图4 螺栓连接两段被隔开的壳体

当这种结构产生一些变化时,如果需要用法兰将如图4所示两个被隔开的壳体连接时,就需要考虑不同的火焰通道了,例如隔爆型电机的接线盒与机座处的隔爆接合面,在这种结构里,火焰能够从法兰内侧或者从螺栓孔处向法兰外侧边缘沿着接合面传播,可能引起隔爆外壳外部环境的爆炸,同时,当火焰从法兰内侧传播到螺栓孔处,就会引起另外一个腔体的爆炸,因此在这种情况下,整个结合面宽度、螺栓孔边缘到法兰外侧边缘的距离、螺栓孔边缘到法兰内侧边缘的距离均需要符合隔爆接合面的要求。


 

图5 法兰中间无螺栓紧固

有时候,法兰会比较狭长,制造企业为了对其进行加固,会在中间加一道加强法兰,如图5所示,如果这段法兰上没有紧固螺栓,也没有将腔体隔成两部分,那么这里就不需按隔爆接合面进行设计。


 

图6 同一腔体的法兰中间有螺栓紧固

但是有些情况下,由于接合面比较大,仅靠周边的固定无法保证爆炸时盖板强度,因此中间法兰上会有紧固螺栓,如图6所示,这时就需要考虑火焰通道了,由于法兰两侧是同一个腔体,所以整个平面接合面不需要满足隔爆接合面宽度,但是如果火焰从法兰边缘沿着接合面传播到紧固螺栓孔边缘时,或从螺栓孔传播到壳体外部,因此这段接合面需要符合隔爆接合面的距离。


 

图7 不同腔体之间的法兰用螺栓紧固

另外一些情况下,两个相邻的腔体共用一块盖板,如图7所示,例如在大功率的输送机电机上,电机腔和接线腔在上方共用一块盖板。这种结构里,除了法兰边缘到螺栓孔的距离需要符合隔爆接合面的距离外,火焰如果沿着整个接合面传播,也会从一个腔传播到另外一个腔,从而引起该腔的爆炸,因此法兰的有效接合宽度需要满足隔爆接合面的宽度要求。

 

为了显示电气设备的信息或者将光源的光传播到外部,在外壳上还需要安装透明件,除非昂贵的聚碳酸酯等材料可以进行钻孔或机加工以满足隔爆面的固定及尺寸精度要求,大量使用的钢化玻璃是无法保证尺寸精度的,只能采取其它手段满足隔爆接合面的要求。目前矿用设备大多采用衬垫安装的方式,便于更换,但由于接合面间隙较大,不能保证通过II类设备的内部点燃的不传爆试验。II类设备的透明件基本采用粘结接合面的方式,这种接合面中的粘结剂一般只保证密封效果,透明件需要靠机械结构固定。目前也有特殊的熔融接合面,将玻璃融化后浇铸在外壳或框架内,玻璃和金属部件之间几乎没有间隙,但这种工艺成本高,一般不采用。

 

电气设备通常都有和其它设备的线路连接,以实现供电、控制、通讯等功能,防爆电气设备是采用电缆以实现这些功能。然而由于电缆是采用有弹性的橡胶制成,无法像金属或塑料那样加工成外尺寸固定的圆柱形,并且电缆在安装后的位置也应当有足够的稳定性,防止在使用过程中被拉扯而导致线路故障。基于电缆材料和结构的特点,一般都采用带孔的圆柱形密封圈套在电缆外部的方式,将其与金属垫圈一起安装到联通节内,用各种方式的压紧装置轴向压缩密封圈,使其径向膨胀,由于密封圈外侧联通节的原因,密封圈只能向内侧膨胀,从而与电缆紧密结合,达到夹紧电缆的作用,这个结构被称为电缆引入装置。对于隔爆外壳上使用的引入装置,除了需要夹紧电缆,还应当防止内部的火焰通过密封圈与电缆、密封圈与联通节之间的间隙传播到环境中,因此,还应额外进行密封试验,确认其防止火焰传播的能力。对IIC类设备,或者电缆过短的情况,还应考虑火焰从电缆内部传播的风险,一般建议隔爆外壳外部的电缆长度不宜小于1米。


 

隔爆外壳的小结

采用隔爆外壳保护的方式不需要对电气部件进行改造或降低其性能使用,对电气设备的类型也没有限制,应用方便,是使用多的防爆型式。但是由于外壳需要承受内部爆炸压力,结构笨重,也会增加制造成本。 

 

相关推荐
联系我们
400-862-6488
地址:深圳市光明区高新西路11号研祥智谷研发楼12楼
关注我们
版权所有:深圳中诺检测技术有限公司  粤ICP备18004888号
服务热线
18924609560
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询