Scan code consultation:
400-862-6488
Service
Service
Current location: Home Service SIL certification
SIL certification Q&A

SINO Testing Services

| 2020-06-22|Return

1. What is SIL?

SIL represents the level of security integrity. SIL is a measure of the On Demand Probability of Failure (PFD) of security system performance or SIF or SIS. There are four discrete integrity levels related to SIL. The higher the SIL level, the lower the probability of failure in the security system requirements, and the better the system performance. It is also worth noting that as the level of SIL increases, the cost and complexity of the system usually increase.

The SIL level applies to the entire system. Individual products or components do not have SIL ratings. When using the SIL level during SIF execution, it is necessary to reduce the existing intolerable process risk level to an acceptable risk range.

2. What is SIS?

SIS is a safety instrumented system. It aims to prevent or mitigate hazardous events by placing the process in a safe state when predetermined conditions are violated. SIS consists of a logic solver, sensors, and final elements. Other common terms for SIS are safety interlock systems, emergency shutdown systems (ESD), and safety shutdown systems (SSD). SIS can be one or more Safety Instrumented Functions (SIFs).

3. What is SIF?

SIF represents safety instrument function. SIF aims to prevent or mitigate hazardous events by elevating processes to an acceptable level of risk. SIF consists of a logic solver, sensors, and final elements. SIF has a specified SIL level, depending on the amount of risk that needs to be reduced. One or more SIFs contain SIS.

What does functional safety mean?

Functional safety is a term used to describe a safety system that relies on logical solvers, sensors, and final elements to achieve the required level of risk reduction. When each SIF is successfully executed and the process risk is reduced to the required level, functional safety can be achieved.

Why have ANSI/ISA 84, IEC 61508, and IEC 61511 standards been developed?

These standards are a natural evolution that requires more formal and quantifiable methods to reduce process risks and improve safety. In addition, especially for IEC 61508, with the development and popularization of software applications and usage, there is an increasing need to establish standards to guide system/product designers and developers to ensure and "declare" what they need to do. Their systems/products are acceptable and safe for their intended use.

When do I need SIF or SIS?

The standard philosophy states that SIS or SIF should only be implemented when there are no other non instrumented ways to fully eliminate or mitigate process risks. Specifically, ANSI/ISA-84.00.01-2004 (IEC 61511 Mod) recommends a multidisciplinary team approach that follows the safety lifecycle, conducts process hazard analysis, designs various protective layers (i.e. LOPA), and ultimately implements SIS when a hazardous event cannot be prevented or mitigated through methods other than instrumentation.

7. What is the validation test interval?

Verification testing is a requirement of safety instrumented systems to ensure that everything is functioning properly and executed as expected. The testing must include validation of the entire system, logic solver, sensors, and final elements. The interval is the time when the test occurs. The testing frequency varies for each SIS and depends on the technology, system architecture, and target SIL level. The validation test interval is an important component of calculating the probability of system failure requirements.

8. What is Process Hazard Analysis (PHA)?

PHA is an OSHA directive used to identify safety issues and risks during the process, develop corrective measures to address safety issues, and proactively develop alternative emergency measures in the event of safety system failures. PHA must be conducted by a diverse team with specific expertise during the analysis process. Many consulting and engineering companies also provide PHA services. The PHA method can include hypothesis analysis, Hazard and Operability Study (HAZOP), Failure Mode and Effects Analysis (FEMA), and Fault Tree Analysis.

 9. What voting configuration is required for each SIL level?

The required SIL level depends on multiple factors. The type of technology adopted, the number of system components, the number of fault point requirements (PFD) for each component, the system architecture (such as redundancy, voting), and the SIL level that plays an important role in determining the validation testing interval. There is no standard answer to what voting configuration is required for each SIL level. The voting structure must be analyzed in the context of all the aforementioned factors.

 10. Does the SIL rating system require additional maintenance?

The SIL solution is certainly not the most cost-effective solution to reduce process risks. Many times, implementing SIL solutions requires adding equipment, which inevitably requires more maintenance. In addition, the higher the SIL level, the more frequent the validation testing interval, which may ultimately increase the required system maintenance. That's why standards only recommend SIL based solutions when other methods determined by LOPA cannot reduce process risks.

 11. Can the F&G system become SIF or SIS?

The fire and gas (F&G) system can automatically initiate process operations to prevent or mitigate hazardous events, and subsequently place the process in a safe state, which can be considered a safety instrumented function/safety instrumented system.

However, ensuring optimal sensor placement in F&G systems is absolutely crucial. If the position of the gas/flame detector and harmful gases is incorrect and the flame is not fully detected, then SIF/SIS will not be effective.

The correct placement of sensors is more important than determining whether F&G SIF/SIS is SIL 2 or SIL 3.

12. What is SIL 4?

SIL 4 is the highest level of risk reduction that can be achieved through safety instrumented systems. However, in the process industry, this is not a realistic level, and there are currently almost no products/systems that support this level of safety integrity.

SIL 4 systems are often so complex and expensive that they are economically inconvenient to implement. Furthermore, if a process involves many risks that require the SIL 4 system to enter a safe state, then fundamentally, there is an issue in process design that needs to be addressed through process changes or other non instrumented methods.

 13. Can a single product pass SIL certification?

No, it's not possible. Some products are only suitable for SIL environments. SIL level is applicable to safety instrument functions/safety instrument systems.

 14. What type of communication bus or protocol is suitable for SIL 2 or SIL 3 systems?

The type of communication protocol applicable to SIL 2 or SIL 3 systems actually depends on the platform type being used. Options include but are not limited to: 4-20 mA output signal, ControlNet (Allen Bradley), DeviceNet safety (Allen Bradley), SafetyNet (MTL), and PROFIsafe. Currently, the ISA SP84 committee is developing guidelines for secure buses to ensure compliance with the IEC 61508 and IEC 61511 standards. The first batch of devices with a secure bus should be launched before 2008. The Fieldbus Foundation actively participates in the committee and is committed to establishing the Foundation's Fieldbus Safety Instrumented System (FFSIS) project to jointly develop safety bus specifications with suppliers and end-users.

 15. How to access the PFD and MTBF data of a product for a general monitor?

The universal monitor SIL certificate has corresponding PFD, SFF, and SIL numbers for each product. MTBF data can be provided by request.

 16. Can manufacturers declare that their products are "SIL X certified" rather than "applicable to SIL X systems"?

A single product is only suitable for SIL environments. SIL level is applicable to safety instrument functions/safety instrument systems.

The product certificate is issued by the manufacturer (self certification) or other independent organization to indicate that the corresponding process has been performed, calculations have been performed, and analysis of individual products has been completed to demonstrate that they can operate in a given SIL level system.

The complete IEC 61508 certification can be applied to the manufacturer's process. Full certification means that the manufacturer's product development process complies with the standards specified in the corresponding parts of IEC 61508 parts 2 to 3 (including hardware/systems and software). Obtain comprehensive certification from the certification notification agency, ensuring that the manufacturer's engineering process has been audited, and that the electrical content, firmware, and logic of their products have been evaluated and comply with the guiding principles specified in the standards.

Few nationally recognized institutions can issue nationally recognized certifications. Certificates issued by other consulting firms indicate that the product and/or process have been audited by an independent third party.

 17. Can the manufacturer state that their product complies with all parts of IEC 61508 parts 1 to 7?

IEC 61508 consists of the following parts, with the overall title of Functional Safety of Electrical/Electronic/Programmable Electronic Safety Related Systems:

Part 1: General Requirements

Part 2: Requirements for Electrical/Electronic/Programmable Electronics

Security related systems

Part 3: Software Requirements

Part 4: Definitions and Abbreviations

Part 5: Examples of methods for determining security integrity levels

Part 6: Guidelines for Applying Parts 2 and 3

Part 7: Overview of Technology and Measures

In order to meet the standards, it is necessary to comply with parts 1-3. Sections 4-8 only provide information that can be used to understand and apply the standard, but there are no requirements for compliance.

Product manufacturers typically meet the requirements of Section 2 and determine through FMEDA analysis that their products are suitable for use within a given SIL level.

Companies that choose to certify their engineering processes and obtain comprehensive IEC 61508 certification will also comply with the provisions regarding software development in Section 3.

 What is the meaning of SIL X, is it a valid declaration in accordance with standard IEC 61508, or can other wording be used?

SIL represents the level of security integrity. SIL is a measure of the On Demand Probability of Failure (PFD) of security system performance or SIF or SIS. There are four discrete integrity levels related to SIL. The higher the SIL level, the lower the probability of failure in the security system requirements, and the better the system performance. It is also worth noting that as the level of SIL increases, the cost and complexity of the system usually increase.

The SIL level applies to the entire system if it reduces the risk of the corresponding SIL level. Individual products or components do not have SIL ratings. When using the SIL level during SIF execution, it is necessary to reduce the existing intolerable process risk level to an acceptable risk range.

Compliant with standards. Users should ensure that the program is executed correctly, demonstrate that the tests are executed correctly, and that there are appropriate designs, processes, and program files in place. The device or system must be used in the expected manner in order to successfully achieve the required level of risk reduction. Purchasing components suitable for SIL2 or SIL3 cannot guarantee the SIL2 or SIL3 system.

Service hotline: 18924609560 (same WeChat account)

Related Recommendations
Contact us
400-862-6488
Address: 12th Floor, Research and Development Building, Yanxiang Zhigu, No. 11 Gaoxin West Road, Guangming District, Shenzhen
Follow us
Copyright: Shenzhen Zhongnuo Testing Technology Co., Ltd. 粤ICP备18004888号
服务热线
18924609560
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询

扫码咨询我们:
400-862-6488
服务项目
服务项目
当前位置: 首页 服务项目 SIL认证
SIL认证答疑

深圳中诺检测技术有限公司

| 2020-06-22|返回列表

1.什么是SIL?

 SIL代表安全完整性等级。 SIL是安全系统性能或SIF或SIS的按需失效概率(PFD)的度量。有四个与SIL相关的离散完整性级别。 SIL等级越高,对安全系统的需求失败概率越低,系统性能越好。同样值得注意的是,随着SIL水平的提高,系统的成本和复杂性通常也会增加。

 SIL级别适用于整个系统。个别产品或组件没有SIL评级。在执行SIF时使用SIL水平,必须将现有的不可耐受的过程风险水平降低到可承受的风险范围。 

2.什么是SIS?

 SIS是安全仪表系统。它旨在通过在违反预定条件时将过程置于安全状态来预防或减轻危险事件。 SIS由逻辑解算器,传感器和终元素组成。 SIS的其他常见术语是安全联锁系统,紧急关闭系统(ESD)和安全关闭系统(SSD)。 SIS可以是一个或多个安全仪表功能(SIF)。 

3.什么是SIF?

 SIF代表安全仪表功能。 SIF旨在通过将流程提升到可承受的风险水平来预防或减轻危险事件。 SIF由逻辑解算器,传感器和终元素组成。 SIF具有指定的SIL级别,具体取决于需要降低的风险数量。一个或多个SIF包含SIS。 

4.功能安全是什么意思?

 功能安全是一个术语,用于描述依赖于逻辑解算器,传感器和终要素的正确功能的安全系统,以达到所需的降低风险水平。当每个SIF成功执行并且流程风险降低到所需水平时,都可以实现功能安全。 

5.为什么开发了ANSI / ISA 84,IEC 61508和IEC 61511标准?

 这些标准是需要通过更加正式和可量化的方法降低过程风险和提高安全性的自然演变。此外,特别是对于IEC 61508,随着软件应用和使用的发展和普及,越来越需要制定标准来指导系统/产品设计人员和开发人员确保和“声明”所需做的事情他们的系统/产品对于其预期用途而言是可接受的安全的。 

6.我什么时候需要SIF或SIS?

 标准的理念表明,只有在没有其他非仪器化的方式来充分消除或减轻过程风险时,才应实施SIS或SIF。具体而言,ANSI / ISA-84.00.01-2004(IEC 61511 Mod)推荐遵循安全生命周期的多学科团队方法,进行过程危害分析,设计各种保护层(即LOPA),以及当某个危险事件无法通过仪器以外的其他方法防止或减轻时,终实施SIS。 

7.什么是验证测试间隔? 

 校验测试是安全仪表系统的一项要求,可确保一切工作正常并按预期执行。测试必须包括整个系统,逻辑解算器,传感器和终元素的验证。间隔是测试发生的时间。测试频率因每个SIS而异,并取决于技术,系统架构和目标SIL级别。验证测试间隔是系统失效需求计算概率的重要组成部分。 

8.什么是过程危害分析(PHA)?

 PHA是一项OSHA指令,用于识别过程中的安全问题和风险,制定纠正措施以应对安全问题,并在安全系统出现故障时预先制定替代紧急措施。 PHA必须由在分析过程中具有特定专业知识的多元化团队进行。许多咨询和工程公司也提供PHA服务。 PHA方法可以包括假设分析,危害和可操作性研究(HAZOP),失效模式和影响分析(FEMA)以及故障树分析。

 9.每个SIL级别需要什么投票配置?

 获得所需的SIL水平取决于多种因素。所采用的技术类型,系统组件的数量,每个组件的故障点需求(PFD)数量,系统架构(例如冗余度,投票)以及验证测试时间间隔都在确定中发挥重要作用的SIL级别。对于每个SIL级别需要什么投票配置没有标准答案。投票架构必须在上述所有因素的背景下进行分析。

 10. SIL评级系统是否需要增加维护?

 SIL解决方案当然不是降低流程风险的具成本效益的解决方案。很多时候,实施SIL解决方案需要增加设备,这不可避免地需要更多的维护。另外,SIL级别越高,验证测试间隔越频繁,这可能终增加所需的系统维护量。这就是为什么只有在LOPA确定的其他方法无法降低过程风险的情况下,标准才会推荐基于SIL的解决方案。

 11. F&G系统可以成为SIF或SIS吗?

 火灾和气体(F&G)系统可自动启动过程操作以防止或缓解危险事件,并随后将过程置于安全状态,可被视为安全仪表功能/安全仪表系统。

 然而,在F&G系统中确保佳的传感器放置是绝对关键的。如果气体/火焰探测器和有害气体的位置不正确,火焰没有被充分检测到,那么SIF / SIS将不会有效。

 正确的传感器放置比决定F&G SIF / SIS是SIL 2还是SIL 3更重要。

12.什么是SIL 4?

 SIL 4是可通过安全仪表系统获得的高级别的风险降低。但是,在流程工业中,这不是一个现实的水平,目前几乎没有支持这种安全完整性水平的产品/系统。

 SIL 4系统通常如此复杂和昂贵,以至于在经济上不利于实施。另外,如果一个过程包含很多风险,以至于需要SIL 4系统才能使其进入安全状态,那么从根本上说,过程设计中存在一个问题,需要通过过程更改或其他非仪器化方法解决。

 13.单个产品是否可以通过SIL认证?

 不可以。个别产品仅适用于SIL环境。 SIL级别适用于安全仪表功能/安全仪表系统。

 14.什么类型的通信总线或协议适用于SIL 2或SIL 3系统?

 适用于SIL 2或SIL 3系统的通信协议类型实际上取决于正在使用的平台类型。选件包括但不限于:4-20 mA输出信号,ControlNet(Allen Bradley),DeviceNet安全(Allen Bradley),SafetyNet(MTL)和PROFIsafe。目前,ISA SP84委员会正在制定安全总线的指导方针,以确保基础符合IEC 61508和IEC 61511标准。具有安全总线的首批设备应在2008年之前上市。现场总线基金会积极参与该委员会,并致力于建立基金会现场总线安全仪表系统(FFSIS)项目,以与供应商和终用户共同制定安全总线规范。

 15.对于一般监视器,如何访问产品的PFD和MTBF数据?

 通用监视器SIL证书具有与每个产品相对应的PFD,SFF和SIL编号。 MTBF数据可以通过请求提供。

 16.制造商是否可以声明其产品是“SIL X认证”而非“适用于SIL X系统”?

 单个产品仅适用于SIL环境。 SIL级别适用于安全仪表功能/安全仪表系统。

 产品证书由制造商(自我认证)或其他独立机构颁发,以表明已经执行了相应的过程,已经进行了计算,并且已经完成了单个产品的分析以表明它们可以在给定SIL级别的系统。

 完整的IEC 61508认证可以适用于制造商的流程。完全认证意味着制造商的产品开发过程符合IEC 61508第2至3部分(包括硬件/系统和软件)的相应部分中规定的标准。获得认证通知机构的全面认证,让终用户确信制造商的工程过程已经过审核,其产品的电气内容,固件和逻辑已经过评估并符合标准中规定的指导原则。

 很少有国家认可的机构可以颁发国家认可的认证。其他咨询公司签发的证书表明产品和/或过程已经由独立第三方审核。

 17.制造商是否可以说明其产品符合IEC 61508第1至7部分要求的所有部分?

 IEC 61508由以下部分组成,总标题为电气/电子/可编程电子安全相关系统的功能安全:

 第1部分:一般要求

 第2部分:电气/电子/可编程电子的要求

 安全相关系统

 第3部分:软件要求

 第4部分:定义和缩写

 第5部分:确定安全完整性等级的方法示例

 第6部分:应用第2和第3部分的指南

 第7部分:技术和措施概述

 为了符合标准,有必要符合第1 - 3部分。第4 - 8部分仅提供信息,可用于理解和应用该标准,但对合规性没有要求。

 产品制造商通常符合第2节的要求,通过FMEDA分析确定其产品适合在给定的SIL水平内使用。

 选择认证其工程过程并获得全面IEC 61508认证的公司也将遵守第3节中关于软件开发的规定。

 18. SIL X适用的含义是什么,这是符合标准IEC 61508的有效声明,还是可以使用其他措辞?

 SIL代表安全完整性等级。 SIL是安全系统性能或SIF或SIS的按需失效概率(PFD)的度量。有四个与SIL相关的离散完整性级别。 SIL等级越高,对安全系统的需求失败概率越低,系统性能越好。同样值得注意的是,随着SIL水平的提高,系统的成本和复杂性通常也会增加。

 SIL级别适用于整个系统,如果它降低相应SIL级别的风险。个别产品或组件没有SIL评级。在执行SIF时使用SIL水平,必须将现有的不可耐受的过程风险水平降低到可承受的风险范围。

 符合标准。用户应确保程序得到正确执行,证明测试正确执行,并存在适当的设计,过程和程序文件。设备或系统必须按照预期的方式使用,以便成功获得所需的风险降低水平。购买SIL2或SIL3适合的组件不能保证SIL2或SIL3系统。

服务热线:18924609560(微信同号)

相关推荐
联系我们
400-862-6488
地址:深圳市光明区高新西路11号研祥智谷研发楼12楼
关注我们
版权所有:深圳中诺检测技术有限公司  粤ICP备18004888号
服务热线
18924609560
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询
点击这里给我发消息 在线咨询